Category
AI + human bookkeeping services
When you buy a service you are buying accountability, not software. These are the providers who employ the accountants — with their published prices, what the base fee excludes, and which of them own your ledger rather than working in yours.
12 products · pricing verified September 4, 2026 from vendor sources ·how we evaluate
The short version
The monthly fee is the least useful number on any of these pages. What actually separates these providers is three things: who holds the ledger, what the base fee excludes, and what happens if they disappear.
A $199/month service that keeps your books on its own platform and charges separately for tax is not cheaper than a $399/month service working in your QuickBooks file with tax included. It is a different product.
Three questions to ask before you look at price
1. Whose ledger is it?
If they work in your QuickBooks or Xero file, cancelling is a cancellation. If they keep books on their own platform, cancelling is a migration — and your leverage in any pricing conversation drops accordingly.
2. What is not in the fee?
Income tax filing, payroll, sales tax, catch-up bookkeeping and CFO work are separately priced by nearly every provider here. Two of the cheapest headline fees carry the most expensive add-ons.
3. Is the price banded on something you can predict?
Xendoo bands on monthly expenses, Bench on revenue, Fondo on close cadence, Zeni on revenue stage. Check which band you will be in next year, not this one.
Compare every option side by side
| Product | Starting price | How it is priced | Your general ledger | QuickBooks Online | Xero | Human involvement | Income tax filing | CFO / advisory | Multi-entity |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pilot | $99/mo | Tiered monthly bookkeeping fee. Tax is priced per return by entity type. CFO and COO services are separate monthly retainers. | Service | Partial | Not published | Dedicated accounting team | Yes | Yes | Partial |
| Bench | $199/mo | Flat monthly fee, ~20% cheaper billed annually. A separate QuickBooks-native option is billed hourly with an onboarding fee. | Service | Partial | No | Dedicated accounting team | Yes | No | Not published |
| Finaloop | $245/mo | Entry tier is a flat monthly fee gated by revenue and company age. Full-service and platform tiers are quoted on revenue, complexity and services selected. | Replaces it | No | Not published | Dedicated accounting team | Partial | Partial | Not published |
| Merritt Bookkeeping | $250/mo | One flat price. No tiers, no contracts, no usage bands. | Service | Yes | No | Dedicated accounting team | No | No | Not published |
| Docyt | $299/mo | Published only as 'plans start at $299/month'. Tier structure and what drives the price are not disclosed. | Service | Not published | Not published | Dedicated accounting team | No | No | Yes |
| Xendoo | $355/mo | Monthly fee banded by monthly business expenses. Annual billing is roughly 10% cheaper. | Service | Yes | Yes | Dedicated accounting team | Yes | Yes | Not published |
| Bookkeeper360 | $399/mo | Monthly fee by close cadence, plus a separate onboarding/cleanup project fee. Tax, CFO, payroll and sales tax are individually priced. | Service | Yes | Yes | Dedicated accounting team | Yes | Yes | Not published |
| Fondo | $399/mo | Priced by close cadence. The published monthly plan is $399; the quarterly and annual plans work out lower per month (from about $950 a year) but do not give you current-month numbers. | Service | Not published | Not published | Dedicated accounting team | Yes | No | Not published |
| Zeni | $494/mo | Flat monthly fee by revenue stage, billed annually. Tax, CFO and payroll are separate line items. | Service | Yes | No | Dedicated accounting team | Partial | Partial | Not published |
| Decimal | Not published | Not published. Pricing requires contacting sales. | Service | Not published | Not published | Dedicated accounting team | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Truewind | Not published | Not published. Truewind directs buyers to a demo. | Sits on top | Yes | Yes | Dedicated accounting team | Partial | Partial | Yes |
| Uplinq | Not published | Not published. The pricing page renders prices dynamically and did not expose figures when retrieved on 2026-09-04. | Service | Yes | Not published | Dedicated accounting team | Yes | Partial | Yes |
Not published means the vendor does not state it. We do not fill gaps with guesses.How this table is built
Who holds your general ledger
The single most important structural difference in this category, and the one least often stated on vendor sites.
They work in your file
Leaving is a cancellation. Your accountant can look at the books any time.
The control group
We deliberately include Merritt Bookkeeping, a $250/month flat-rate service that states plainly it is “powered by people, not AI”. It is the benchmark this whole category should be measured against.
If an AI-assisted service cannot beat a manual service on accuracy, on your total hours, or on price, then the AI is a cost-structure improvement for the vendor rather than a benefit to you. That is a legitimate business, but it is not a reason to pay more.
Providers that do not publish pricing
4 of the 12 services here require a sales conversation before you can learn the price. That is a real cost — of your time, and of comparability.
- Docyt — Published only as 'plans start at $299/month'. Tier structure and what drives the price are not disclosed.
- Decimal — Not published. Pricing requires contacting sales.
- Truewind — Not published. Truewind directs buyers to a demo.
- Uplinq — Not published. The pricing page renders prices dynamically and did not expose figures when retrieved on 2026-09-04.
When you do get a quote, ask for it broken into base fee, catch-up work, tax and anything volume-dependent, so it can be compared with the published prices above.
All 12 products in this category
Pilot
$99/moThe broadest published ladder in outsourced accounting: $99/mo software-assisted books up to a dedicated CFO.
Bench
$199/moLong-running human bookkeeping service on proprietary software — with a documented continuity event you should price in.
Finaloop
$245/moReal-time accounting built specifically for ecommerce and retail, including inventory — the one vertical where generic AI bookkeeping usually breaks.
Merritt Bookkeeping
$250/moA flat $250/month human service that explicitly refuses to use AI — the control group for this whole category.
Docyt
$299/moAI agents plus bookkeeping staff built around multi-location operators — hotels, franchises and multi-entity groups.
Xendoo
$355/moWeekly bookkeeping priced by your monthly expense volume rather than by revenue or transaction count.
Bookkeeper360
$399/moUS-based outsourced accounting on your own QuickBooks or Xero file, with a weekly-close option most competitors do not offer.
Fondo
$399/moStartup-specific bookkeeping and tax for Delaware C-corps, with quarterly and annual close options that cut the cost for pre-seed companies.
Zeni
$494/moAI bookkeeping plus a named finance team, aimed at venture-backed startups — priced accordingly.
Decimal
Not publishedIndustry-specialised outsourced accounting spanning bookkeeping through payroll and advisory — with no published pricing.
Truewind
Not publishedClose-management AI that works across QuickBooks, Xero, NetSuite and Sage Intacct, sold to firms and enterprises.
Uplinq
Not publishedEight named AI agents doing the mechanical work, with US-based accountants owning the judgement calls — and no published price.
Questions buyers actually ask
What is an “AI + human” bookkeeping service?
A provider that employs accountants and uses automation to do the first pass. You are buying accountability, not software: somebody else is responsible for the books being right. The AI part changes the provider's cost structure more than it changes your experience — which is why several of the cheapest services in this list barely mention AI at all.
How much does outsourced bookkeeping cost per month?
Across the services in our data with published pricing, entry prices run from $99 to $494 a month, before tax filing, payroll or CFO work — all of which are separately priced by almost every provider. Intuit's own guidance puts subscription virtual bookkeeping at roughly $300–$1,500 a month. The headline tier is rarely the tier you end up on.
Do these services keep my books in QuickBooks?
Some do and some do not, and it is the most consequential difference between them. Bookkeeper360, Xendoo and Uplinq work inside your own QuickBooks or Xero file. Zeni requires you to run QuickBooks Online Plus and pays for itself alongside it. Bench and Fondo keep books on their own platforms. If the provider owns the ledger, leaving them is a migration, not a cancellation.
Is tax filing included?
Almost never in the base price. Bench bundles it in a higher tier at $599/month. Pilot, Bookkeeper360, Xendoo and Fondo all price returns separately, typically $1,000–$2,450 a year depending on entity type. Budget the annual total, not the monthly line.
What happens if my provider shuts down?
It happens. Bench ceased operations without notice on 27 December 2024 and was acquired days later; customers were locked out of their books in the interval. Before signing with any provider that keeps your ledger on its own platform, ask two questions in writing: what format can I export my full transaction history in, and how quickly can I get it? A provider working inside your own QuickBooks or Xero file makes that question moot.
Next steps
Cost calculator
Service vs software vs contractor vs hire, including your own time.
Pilot vs Bench
The two cheapest entry points, and why they are not comparable.
Bench alternatives
If continuity is your concern.
Software instead
Cheaper, if you will do the review yourself.
AI vs human
The framework for deciding between them.
Software finder
A ranked shortlist against your constraints.