By buyer

AI bookkeeping for accounting firms

Firm-side products are priced per client entity, which makes the buying question arithmetic: does this remove more cost per client than it adds? Here are the published numbers, and the two very different bottlenecks these tools address.

8 products · pricing verified September 4, 2026 from vendor sources ·how we evaluate

The short version

Two distinct products are sold to firms under one label. Categorization automation cuts preparer hours. Close and review automation cuts reviewer hours and cycle time. They cost similar amounts and solve different constraints.

If your practice is capacity-limited by senior review — the normal failure mode of a growing CAS book — the cheaper preparer-side tool will not fix it.

The break-even arithmetic

Per-client pricing turns this into a calculation you can do before any demo. Take the per-entity monthly price, divide by the fully loaded hourly cost of the person whose time it saves, and you have the hours per client per month the tool must remove.

Hours per client per month a tool must save to break even, at published per-entity prices. Assumes a fully loaded staff cost, not a billing rate.
Per-entity priceAt $35/hr staff costAt $55/hrAt $85/hr
$59/mo (Botkeeper, 25+ licenses)1.7 hrs1.1 hrs0.7 hrs
$79/mo (Botkeeper, 10–24)2.3 hrs1.4 hrs0.9 hrs
$149/mo (Botkeeper, 1–4)4.3 hrs2.7 hrs1.8 hrs
$200/mo (Double, Core)5.7 hrs3.6 hrs2.4 hrs
$250/mo (top of Digits’ published range)7.1 hrs4.5 hrs2.9 hrs

Arithmetic only — price divided by hourly cost. It says nothing about whether a given tool actually saves those hours on your files. Nobody has independently measured that, which is the point of our benchmark programme.

Compare every option side by side

Products sold to accounting firms, ordered by lowest published entry price. Several publish nothing.
ProductStarting priceHow it is pricedQuickBooks OnlineXeroMulti-entityAI agentsPublic APIHuman involvement
Xero$25/moPer company, per month (US pricing). Introductory discounts run frequently.NoYesNoPartialYesSoftware only, partner network
QuickBooks Online$38/moPer company, per month, by feature tier. List prices below; Intuit runs heavy introductory discounts (90% off for 3 months at time of retrieval).YesNoNoPartialYesSoftware only, partner network
Botkeeper$53/moPer license (one per client entity), per month, banded by how many licenses the firm holds. Annual billing is ~10% cheaper. Month-to-month cancellable.Not publishedNot publishedYesPartialNot publishedSoftware only
Digits$65/moFlat per company, per month. No per-seat fees. Accounting firms are billed per client per month.Not publishedNot publishedNot publishedYesYesSoftware only, partner network
Booke AI$129/moPer business, per month. Firm pricing is quoted.YesYesPartialYesNot publishedSoftware only
Double$200/moPer-client model. The site shows a Core plan at $200 per month with an annual commitment, plus a per-email add-on, but does not publish a full tier table.YesYesYesYesNot publishedSoftware only
BasisNot publishedNot published.Not publishedNot publishedYesYesNot publishedSoftware only
TruewindNot publishedNot published. Truewind directs buyers to a demo.YesYesYesYesYesDedicated accounting team

Not published means the vendor does not state it. We do not fill gaps with guesses.How this table is built

Which bottleneck are you buying against?

Preparer capacity

Symptoms: work sits in a queue before anyone touches it; you are hiring or offshoring to keep up with categorization and reconciliation.

Look at: Botkeeper, Booke AI, Digits (firm plans).

Review capacity and cycle time

Symptoms: files wait on a manager; closes slip past the 15th; the same coding errors come back every month.

Look at: Double, Truewind, Basis.

Outcome-based pricing is worth taking seriously

In April 2026 Digits began charging firms only for clients where it automates 95% or more of transactions. Whatever you think of the specific product, the structure moves automation risk from the buyer to the vendor, and it is the first pricing model in this category that does.

Worth asking about: the 95% threshold is defined and measured by the vendor, and the measurement method is not published. Ask how a “transaction” is counted and what happens to a client that hovers at 93%.

Diligence questions the marketing will not answer

  • Which general ledgers do you write back to, and is the sync two-way? (Botkeeper does not state this on its pricing page.)
  • What is your error taxonomy — how do you classify a wrong categorization versus an unclassified one?
  • Can I see per-client automation rates, or only a firm-wide average?
  • What is the audit trail for an agent-made journal entry, and can a reviewer reverse it in one action?
  • Where does client data go, who can see it, and is it used for training?
  • What is the exit path if we cancel mid-year?

All 8 products in this category

Questions buyers actually ask

How is AI bookkeeping software priced for accounting firms?

Almost always per client entity per month, with volume bands. Botkeeper publishes the clearest ladder — $149 per license per month at 1–4 licenses falling to $59 at 25+ (roughly 10% less on annual billing). Digits publishes a $35–$250 per-client range and, since April 2026, an outcome-based option where firms are charged only for clients where it automates 95%+ of transactions. Double lists a $200/month Core plan with an annual commitment. Basis and Truewind publish nothing.

What does per-client pricing mean for firm margins?

It means the tool has to save more staff time per client than it costs per client, on your least profitable clients as well as your best. At $79 per entity per month, a tool needs to remove roughly two to three hours of billable-equivalent work a month per client to break even. That is achievable on messy, high-volume clients and much harder on the dormant ones you keep for the tax work.

Should a firm buy a categorization tool or a close-management platform?

They solve different bottlenecks. Categorization tools (Botkeeper, Booke AI) reduce preparer hours. Close-management and review platforms (Double, Truewind) reduce reviewer hours and cycle time. If your constraint is senior review capacity — which it usually is in a growing CAS practice — the second category is where the leverage is, even though the first is cheaper.

Is agentic AI real in accounting yet, or is it marketing?

Both, and the gap between them is why buying is hard. Basis raised $100M at a $1.15bn valuation in February 2026 to build agents that run whole workflows — close, tax preparation, audit testing — and states that around 30% of the top 25 US firms use it. That is meaningful adoption. But no vendor in this category publishes accuracy data, error taxonomies or independent audits, so due diligence still means running your own parallel test on real client files.

What should a firm ask for in a pilot?

A named client set, a fixed period, and a measurement you agree in advance: preparer hours per entity, reviewer hours per entity, number of corrections made at review, and close cycle time. Compare against the same clients in the prior quarter. Vendors will offer efficiency statistics from other firms; those are not evidence about your files, your chart of accounts or your staff.

Next steps