Head to head

Botkeeper vs Double

Both are sold to accounting firms per client entity. They relieve different bottlenecks, and buying the wrong one leaves your actual constraint untouched.

Figures verified September 4, 2026 from vendor sources. How we compare.

The crux

Botkeeper removes preparer hours. Double removes reviewer hours and close cycle time.

Choose Botkeeper if…

Your constraint is preparation volume — categorization and reconciliation are backing up before anyone senior touches the file — and you want published per-license pricing that falls with scale.

Choose Double if…

Your constraint is review capacity, your clients sit on mixed ledgers (NetSuite and Sage Intacct as well as QuickBooks and Xero), and the recurring cost is managers re-finding the same coding errors.

Side by side

Botkeeper and Double on the dimensions that change the decision.
ProductStarting priceHow it is pricedHuman involvementYour general ledgerQuickBooks OnlineXeroMulti-entityAccrual basisInventoryAP / bill payIncome tax filingCFO / advisoryAI agentsTry before you buy
Botkeeper$53/moPer license (one per client entity), per month, banded by how many licenses the firm holds. Annual billing is ~10% cheaper. Month-to-month cancellable.Software onlySits on topNot publishedNot publishedYesNot publishedNoNot publishedNoNoPartialNot published
Double$200/moPer-client model. The site shows a Core plan at $200 per month with an annual commitment, plus a per-email add-on, but does not publish a full tier table.Software onlySits on topYesYesYesYesNoNoNoNoYesNot published

Not published means the vendor does not state it. We do not fill gaps with guesses.How this table is built

Botkeeper

Platform for accounting firms · Software only

Per-entity licensing for accounting firms, with the only published volume-discount ladder in the firm category.

  • The only firm-side product here with a fully published per-license price ladder
  • Volume economics are real: unit cost falls 60% between the 1–4 and 25+ bands
  • Month-to-month cancellation on monthly plans lowers the cost of trying it
  • The ~85% automation figure is a vendor claim with no published measurement method
  • Accounting-platform support is not stated on the pricing page — verify QuickBooks and Xero coverage before buying

Double

Platform for accounting firms · Software only

Month-end close and client-management workflow for firms, with two-way sync into four major ledgers.

  • Broadest ledger coverage here: two-way sync with NetSuite, Sage Intacct, QuickBooks Online and Xero
  • Targets review and flux analysis, which is where senior time actually goes, not just categorization
  • Serves both firms and in-house finance teams from one product
  • Pricing is not fully published; the $200 Core figure requires an annual commitment and covers only part of the model
  • Does no bookkeeping itself — it reviews and organises work someone else performs

Where the difference actually is

Published pricing

Botkeeper publishes a full ladder: $149 per license per month at 1–4 licenses, $109 at 5–9, $79 at 10–24, $59 at 25+, roughly 10% less on annual billing, month-to-month cancellable. Double shows a Core plan at $200/month with an annual commitment and a $10 per connected team email add-on, but no complete per-client table. On transparency alone, Botkeeper is the easier product to budget.

Ledger coverage

Double publishes two-way sync with NetSuite, Sage Intacct, QuickBooks Online and Xero — the widest coverage of any product we track. Botkeeper does not state which general ledgers it supports on its pricing page, which for a firm with mixed client systems is a question to settle before a pilot, not after.

What each one automates

Botkeeper: transaction categorization (it states approximately 85% automation), automated bank reconciliation, automated journal entries, and an autonomous month-end review with anomaly detection. Double: AI bank feeds, AI transactions, coding-error detection, schedule building, flux analysis and an assistant, plus the client-communication workflow around the close.

Break-even

At $79 per entity per month against a $55/hour fully loaded staff cost, Botkeeper needs to save about 1.4 hours per client per month. Double at $200/month needs about 3.6 hours — but against reviewer time, which typically costs more per hour, so the required saving in hours is lower than the price gap suggests.

Neither publishes accuracy data

Botkeeper’s ~85% automation figure and every equivalent claim in this category come with no stated methodology, no shared test set and no independent audit. Run a pilot on your own client files with a metric you define in advance — preparer hours, corrections at review, cycle time — and compare against the same clients last quarter.

Frequently asked

Is Botkeeper or Double cheaper?

Botkeeper starts at $53/mo and Double at $200/mo. Entry price is rarely the deciding number in this category — check the add-ons table on each product page, because tax filing, payroll and catch-up work are priced separately by most vendors.

What is the main difference between Botkeeper and Double?

Botkeeper removes preparer hours. Double removes reviewer hours and close cycle time.

Which should I choose?

Choose Botkeeper if: Your constraint is preparation volume — categorization and reconciliation are backing up before anyone senior touches the file — and you want published per-license pricing that falls with scale. Choose Double if: Your constraint is review capacity, your clients sit on mixed ledgers (NetSuite and Sage Intacct as well as QuickBooks and Xero), and the recurring cost is managers re-finding the same coding errors.

Has AI Ledger Intelligence tested either product?

No. Neither product has been run against a controlled transaction set by us or, as far as we can find, by any independent party. This comparison is built from each vendor’s published material with the retrieval date shown. Our benchmark programme sets out the accuracy testing we intend to publish.

Sources for both products

Every figure on this page was read from the vendor’s own published material or from named trade press on the date shown. We do not estimate prices.

  1. Botkeeper pricing — botkeeper.com, retrieved September 4, 2026
  2. Double pricing plans — doublehq.com, retrieved September 4, 2026
  3. CPA Practice Advisor — Keeper has rebranded to Double (24 October 2025) — cpapracticeadvisor.com, retrieved September 4, 2026
  4. Business Wire — Double raises $6.5M Series A (10 December 2025) — businesswire.com, retrieved September 4, 2026

Record last verified September 4, 2026.

Next steps