Platform for accounting firms

Botkeeper

Per-entity licensing for accounting firms, with the only published volume-discount ladder in the firm category.

At a glance

What it is
Platform for accounting firms
Relationship to your books
Runs on top of your existing ledger
Starting price
$53/mo
Pricing basis
Per license (one per client entity), per month, banded by how many licenses the firm holds. Annual billing is ~10% cheaper. Month-to-month cancellable.
Human involvement
Software only
QuickBooks Online
Not published
Xero
Not published
Multi-entity
Yes
Income tax filing
No
Free trial or free tier
Not published
Best suited to
An accounting or bookkeeping firm with at least five client entities that wants to cut categorization and reconciliation labour without changing the ledgers clients already use.
Tested by the AI Ledger Benchmark
Not yet — see the benchmark programme
Facts verified
September 4, 2026

Botkeeper is sold to accounting firms by the client entity, not to end businesses. It automates transaction categorization, bank reconciliation and journal entries, and runs an autonomous month-end review with anomaly detection. Its pricing is the most transparent in the firm segment: four published license bands from $149/month down to $59/month per entity as volume rises. Botkeeper states it automates approximately 85% of transaction categorization.

Who it is for

Choose Botkeeper if: An accounting or bookkeeping firm with at least five client entities that wants to cut categorization and reconciliation labour without changing the ledgers clients already use.

Look elsewhere if: The ~85% automation figure is a vendor claim with no published measurement method, or if any of the limitations below are load-bearing for your business.

Botkeeper pricing

Per license (one per client entity), per month, banded by how many licenses the firm holds. Annual billing is ~10% cheaper. Month-to-month cancellable.

Published plans, read from Botkeeper’s own pricing page on September 4, 2026.
PlanPriceBasisNotes and inclusions
1–4 licenses
Solo practitioners and small firms
$149per license, per month
$134 per license per month billed annually
AI-powered transaction categorization · Automated bank reconciliation · Automated journal entries · Firm Insights dashboard · Unlimited document storage
5–9 licenses$109per license, per month
$98 per license per month billed annually
10–24 licenses$79per license, per month
$71 per license per month billed annually
25+ licenses$59per license, per month
$53 per license per month billed annually

Accounting platform compatibility

This is the first thing to check. A product that replaces your ledger is a migration; one that sits on top of it is reversible.

PlatformSupport
QuickBooks OnlineNot published
XeroNot published
NetSuiteNot published
Sage IntacctNot published
Own general ledgerNot published

Capabilities

“Not published” means we could not verify the capability from Botkeeper’s own material. It is not a “no”.
CapabilityStatus
Automated transaction categorizationYes
Bank / account reconciliationYes
Month-end close workflowYes
Accounts payable / bill payNot published
Invoicing / accounts receivableNot published
Receipt & document captureYes
Multi-entity supportYes
Classes, departments or locationsNot published
Accrual-basis accountingNot published
Revenue recognitionNot published
Inventory accountingNo
Payroll (included or native)No
Sales tax handlingNo
Income tax return filingNo
CFO / advisory serviceNo
Anomaly & error detectionYes

AI and developer surface

FeatureStatus
Named AI agents that complete workPartial
Natural-language assistant over your booksNot published
Public APINot published
MCP server / LLM-native accessNot published
White-label for firmsPartial

Strengths

  • The only firm-side product here with a fully published per-license price ladder
  • Volume economics are real: unit cost falls 60% between the 1–4 and 25+ bands
  • Month-to-month cancellation on monthly plans lowers the cost of trying it
  • Autonomous month-end review with anomaly detection, not just categorization

Limitations

  • The ~85% automation figure is a vendor claim with no published measurement method
  • Accounting-platform support is not stated on the pricing page — verify QuickBooks and Xero coverage before buying
  • Not sold to end businesses; a single company cannot buy this directly
  • Per-entity pricing means low-activity clients cost the same as busy ones

What we could not verify

Most sites in this category would state these as facts. We list them as gaps, and they are the questions to put to Botkeeper directly.

  • Which general ledgers are supported is not published on the pricing page
  • Whether white-labelling to clients is included at all bands

Frequently asked

How much does Botkeeper cost?

Botkeeper starts at $53/mo. Per license (one per client entity), per month, banded by how many licenses the firm holds. Annual billing is ~10% cheaper. Month-to-month cancellable. Full published tiers are listed above; figures were read from the vendor's own pricing page on September 4, 2026.

Does Botkeeper work with QuickBooks Online?

Botkeeper does not state whether it supports QuickBooks Online. We have flagged this as unverified rather than guessing.

Does Botkeeper include a human bookkeeper?

Software only. No accountant is included. You or your accountant review the output.

Has AI Ledger Intelligence tested Botkeeper?

No. We have not run Botkeeper against a transaction set, and we do not claim hands-on experience we do not have. This page is a verified-data profile built from primary sources. Our benchmark programme explains the accuracy testing we intend to publish and how it will be run.

Alternatives to Botkeeper

Closest products by category, ledger relationship, human involvement and price.

Sources for Botkeeper

Every figure on this page was read from the vendor’s own published material or from named trade press on the date shown. We do not estimate prices.

  1. Botkeeper pricing — botkeeper.com, retrieved September 4, 2026

Record last verified September 4, 2026.