Alternatives

Botkeeper alternatives for accounting firms

Botkeeper publishes the clearest per-license pricing in the firm category. If it is not the right fit, the alternatives differ mainly in which bottleneck they relieve.

5 alternatives · pricing verified September 4, 2026 · how we evaluate

Match the alternative to your reason

“Best alternative” is not a question with one answer. Find the row below that describes why you are here, and start there.

If your reason is…Start with
review capacity is the constraintDouble — $200/mo
your clients sit on mid-market ledgersTruewind — Not published
you are large enough to restructure a departmentBasis — Not published
you want white-label at a smaller scaleBooke AI — $129/mo
you want vendor-side automation riskDigits — $65/mo

Why people leave Botkeeper

Stated plainly, from Botkeeper’s own published terms and documented history — not from anonymous reviews.

Full Botkeeper profile, including what it does well →

The alternatives in detail

If review capacity is the constraint

1. Double

$200/mo

Two-way sync with NetSuite, Sage Intacct, QuickBooks Online and Xero — the widest ledger coverage we track. Targets coding-error detection, schedule building and flux analysis, which is where senior time goes. Core listed at $200/month with an annual commitment.

Works with QuickBooksWorks with Xero

If your clients sit on mid-market ledgers

2. Truewind

Not published

Integrates QuickBooks Online, Xero, NetSuite and Sage Intacct, SOC 2 certified, and available either as software or as a CPA-delivered service. Publishes no pricing, so budget for a sales process.

Works with QuickBooksWorks with XeroDedicated team

If you are large enough to restructure a department

3. Basis

Not published

Long-horizon agents across CAS, tax and audit; raised $100M at a $1.15bn valuation in February 2026 and states roughly 30% of the top 25 US firms use it. Nothing published on pricing, integrations or accuracy.

If you want white-label at a smaller scale

4. Booke AI

$129/mo

A firm tier with multi-client management and a white-label client experience on top of QuickBooks Online and Xero. Business pricing is $129/month per business; firm pricing is quoted.

Works with QuickBooksWorks with Xero

If you want vendor-side automation risk

5. Digits

$65/mo

Since April 2026 Digits charges firms only for clients where it automates 95%+ of transactions. The threshold is vendor-defined and the measurement is not published, but it is the only outcome-linked structure in the category.

Replaces your ledger

Botkeeper against every alternative

Botkeeper compared with its realistic alternatives.
ProductStarting priceHuman involvementYour general ledgerQuickBooks OnlineXeroMulti-entityAccrual basisIncome tax filingAI agentsTry before you buy
Botkeeper$53/moSoftware onlySits on topNot publishedNot publishedYesNot publishedNoPartialNot published
Double$200/moSoftware onlySits on topYesYesYesYesNoYesNot published
TruewindNot publishedDedicated accounting teamSits on topYesYesYesYesPartialYesNot published
BasisNot publishedSoftware onlySits on topNot publishedNot publishedYesYesYesYesNot published
Booke AI$129/moSoftware onlySits on topYesYesPartialPartialNoYesNot published
Digits$65/moSoftware only, partner networkReplaces itNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedNoYes30 days

Not published means the vendor does not state it. We do not fill gaps with guesses.How this table is built

Before you switch

  1. Define the metric before the pilot: preparer hours per entity, corrections at review, and close cycle time, measured against the same clients last quarter.
  2. Confirm two-way ledger sync explicitly. One-way read access cannot save preparation time.
  3. Ask what the audit trail looks like for an automated journal entry, and whether a reviewer can reverse it in one action.
  4. Check the contract term. Botkeeper allows month-to-month cancellation on monthly plans; not every competitor does.

Frequently asked

What is the best alternative to Botkeeper?

There is no single best one — it depends which of Botkeeper's constraints is the one binding you. Double if review capacity is the constraint; Truewind if your clients sit on mid-market ledgers; Basis if you are large enough to restructure a department; Booke AI if you want white-label at a smaller scale; Digits if you want vendor-side automation risk.

Why do people look for Botkeeper alternatives?

It does not state which general ledgers it supports on its pricing page — a real problem for firms with mixed client stacks. It reduces preparer hours. If your constraint is senior review capacity, it will not touch it. Per-entity pricing means dormant clients cost the same as busy ones. The ~85% automation figure has no published methodology.

Is there a cheaper alternative to Botkeeper?

Not among the alternatives we recommend here. Botkeeper starts at $53/mo, and the alternatives worth considering cost the same or more because they include things it does not.

Have you tested these products?

No. These pages are built from each vendor’s published material with the retrieval date shown, and we say so on every product profile. Our benchmark programme describes the independent accuracy testing we intend to publish.

Next steps