AI-native accounting platform

Digits

AI-native general ledger with named agents that categorize, reconcile and close — no QuickBooks underneath.

At a glance

What it is
AI-native accounting platform
Relationship to your books
Replaces your general ledger
Starting price
$65/mo
Pricing basis
Flat per company, per month. No per-seat fees. Accounting firms are billed per client per month.
Human involvement
Software only, partner network
QuickBooks Online
Not published
Xero
Not published
Multi-entity
Not published
Income tax filing
No
Free trial or free tier
30-day free trial
Best suited to
A software-forward business that is willing to move off QuickBooks and wants the ledger itself to be agent-driven, with an API and MCP endpoint for its own tooling.
Tested by the AI Ledger Benchmark
Not yet — see the benchmark programme
Facts verified
September 4, 2026

Digits runs your books on its own ledger rather than layering on QuickBooks or Xero. The platform is organised around agents — a bookkeeper agent, a reconciliation agent, a quality-review agent and a research agent — plus a chat assistant over your financials. It publishes flat per-company pricing with no per-seat fees, and a separate per-client model for accounting firms. In April 2026 Digits announced outcome-based pricing for firms, charging only for clients where it automates 95%+ of transactions.

Who it is for

Choose Digits if: A software-forward business that is willing to move off QuickBooks and wants the ledger itself to be agent-driven, with an API and MCP endpoint for its own tooling.

Look elsewhere if: Replacing your general ledger is a migration, not an install — historical data, accountant workflows and integrations all move, or if any of the limitations below are load-bearing for your business.

Digits pricing

Flat per company, per month. No per-seat fees. Accounting firms are billed per client per month.

Published plans, read from Digits’s own pricing page on September 4, 2026.
PlanPriceBasisNotes and inclusions
Essentials
Solopreneurs and early-stage businesses
$65per month
24/7 AI bookkeeping · Ask Digits assistant · Invoicing and bill pay · Live dashboards · Developer API and MCP · Bank connections across 12,000+ institutions
Core
Small businesses and growing companies
$100per month
Everything in Essentials · Custom dashboards · Dimensional accounting (department / location)
Pro
Scaling businesses with internal finance teams
$250per month
Everything in Core · Agentic Close · Automated schedules · Custom management reporting
Firms — Solo practice
Accounting firms up to 50 clients
Not publishedper client, per month
Published as a $35–$250 per client per month range for practices up to 50 clients
Firms — Mid-sized
Accounting firms, 50+ clients
Not publishedper client, per month
Published as a $50–$250 per client per month range for practices with 50+ clients

Accounting platform compatibility

This is the first thing to check. A product that replaces your ledger is a migration; one that sits on top of it is reversible.

PlatformSupport
QuickBooks OnlineNot published
XeroNot published
NetSuiteNot published
Sage IntacctNot published
Own general ledgerYes

Capabilities

“Not published” means we could not verify the capability from Digits’s own material. It is not a “no”.
CapabilityStatus
Automated transaction categorizationYes
Bank / account reconciliationYes
Month-end close workflowYes
Accounts payable / bill payYes
Invoicing / accounts receivableYes
Receipt & document captureNot published
Multi-entity supportNot published
Classes, departments or locationsYes
Accrual-basis accountingNot published
Revenue recognitionNot published
Inventory accountingNot published
Payroll (included or native)No
Sales tax handlingNot published
Income tax return filingNo
CFO / advisory serviceNo
Anomaly & error detectionYes

AI and developer surface

FeatureStatus
Named AI agents that complete workYes
Natural-language assistant over your booksYes
Public APIYes
MCP server / LLM-native accessYes
White-label for firmsNot published

Strengths

  • One of the few products where AI agents own the ledger end to end rather than annotating someone else's
  • Publishes flat pricing with no per-seat charges — unusual in this category
  • Ships a documented developer API and an MCP endpoint, so the books are addressable by your own agents
  • Outcome-based firm pricing (announced April 2026) puts automation risk on the vendor rather than the firm

Limitations

  • Replacing your general ledger is a migration, not an install — historical data, accountant workflows and integrations all move
  • The pricing page does not list QuickBooks or Xero as supported accounting platforms, so this is not an add-on to books you already keep
  • No income tax filing and no employed bookkeeping team; review is your responsibility or your accountant's
  • Firm pricing is published only as a wide $35–$250 per-client range

What we could not verify

Most sites in this category would state these as facts. We list them as gaps, and they are the questions to put to Digits directly.

  • Whether inventory, revenue recognition and multi-entity consolidation are supported is not stated on the pricing page
  • The 95%-automation threshold behind outcome-based pricing is defined by Digits; the measurement method is not published

Frequently asked

How much does Digits cost?

Digits starts at $65/mo. Flat per company, per month. No per-seat fees. Accounting firms are billed per client per month. Full published tiers are listed above; figures were read from the vendor's own pricing page on September 4, 2026.

Does Digits work with QuickBooks Online?

Digits does not state whether it supports QuickBooks Online. We have flagged this as unverified rather than guessing.

Does Digits include a human bookkeeper?

Software only, partner network. No accountant included, but the vendor will refer you to a partner firm.

Has AI Ledger Intelligence tested Digits?

No. We have not run Digits against a transaction set, and we do not claim hands-on experience we do not have. This page is a verified-data profile built from primary sources. Our benchmark programme explains the accuracy testing we intend to publish and how it will be run.

Alternatives to Digits

Closest products by category, ledger relationship, human involvement and price.

Sources for Digits

Every figure on this page was read from the vendor’s own published material or from named trade press on the date shown. We do not estimate prices.

  1. Digits pricing — digits.com, retrieved September 4, 2026
  2. CPA Practice Advisor — Digits announces outcome-based pricing for accounting firms (7 April 2026) — cpapracticeadvisor.com, retrieved September 4, 2026

Record last verified September 4, 2026.