AI-native accounting platform
Kick
Free-tier AI bookkeeping aimed at solo operators, with an MCP/CLI interface from the paid tier up.
At a glance
- What it is
- AI-native accounting platform
- Relationship to your books
- Replaces your general ledger
- Starting price
- Free tier
- Pricing basis
- Per company, per month, gated by annual transaction volume on the free tier only.
- Human involvement
- AI first, expert review
- QuickBooks Online
- Not published
- Xero
- Not published
- Multi-entity
- Yes
- Income tax filing
- No
- Free trial or free tier
- Free tier available
- Best suited to
- A sole proprietor, freelancer or small operator who wants automated books at little or no cost and is comfortable being the reviewer.
- Tested by the AI Ledger Benchmark
- Not yet — see the benchmark programme
- Facts verified
- September 4, 2026
Kick auto-categorizes transactions in real time and produces P&L and balance sheet output on its own ledger. It is the only product in this set with a genuinely free tier (capped at 250 transactions a year), which makes it the natural entry point for sole proprietors. Paid tiers add reconciliation, an accrual ledger, multi-entity support and an MCP/CLI surface that connects the books to ChatGPT and Claude. Kick states it has raised $20M.
Who it is for
Choose Kick if: A sole proprietor, freelancer or small operator who wants automated books at little or no cost and is comfortable being the reviewer.
Look elsewhere if: Free tier's 250-transaction annual cap is roughly 20 transactions a month — genuinely small, or if any of the limitations below are load-bearing for your business.
Kick pricing
Per company, per month, gated by annual transaction volume on the free tier only.
| Plan | Price | Basis | Notes and inclusions |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free New businesses and sole proprietors | Free | per month | 250 transactions per year Auto categorization · Receipt matching · Profit & loss · Balance sheet |
| Basic Full-time businesses needing automation | $40 | per month | $480 billed annually; unlimited transactions MCP / CLI · Universal importer · Reconciliation · Statement sync |
| Plus Growing businesses with accrual needs | $100 | per month | $300 billed quarterly; unlimited transactions Multi-entity · Classes · AR/AP automation · Accrual ledger · Prioritised support |
| Advanced Complex businesses needing tailored support | Not published | per month | Custom pricing Migration and training · Dedicated support · Consolidation · Deduction optimisation |
Accounting platform compatibility
This is the first thing to check. A product that replaces your ledger is a migration; one that sits on top of it is reversible.
| Platform | Support |
|---|---|
| QuickBooks Online | Not published |
| Xero | Not published |
| NetSuite | Not published |
| Sage Intacct | Not published |
| Own general ledger | Yes |
Capabilities
| Capability | Status |
|---|---|
| Automated transaction categorization | Yes |
| Bank / account reconciliation | Yes |
| Month-end close workflow | Not published |
| Accounts payable / bill pay | Yes |
| Invoicing / accounts receivable | Yes |
| Receipt & document capture | Yes |
| Multi-entity support | Yes |
| Classes, departments or locations | Yes |
| Accrual-basis accounting | Yes |
| Revenue recognition | Not published |
| Inventory accounting | Not published |
| Payroll (included or native) | No |
| Sales tax handling | Not published |
| Income tax return filing | No |
| CFO / advisory service | No |
| Anomaly & error detection | Not published |
AI and developer surface
| Feature | Status |
|---|---|
| Named AI agents that complete work | Yes |
| Natural-language assistant over your books | Not published |
| Public API | Partial |
| MCP server / LLM-native access | Yes |
| White-label for firms | Not published |
Strengths
- The only product here with a real free tier rather than a trial
- Multi-entity and accrual are available at $100/mo, well below service pricing
- MCP and CLI access from the $40 tier makes the ledger scriptable and LLM-addressable
- Quarterly billing option on Plus is unusual and helps seasonal businesses
Limitations
- Free tier's 250-transaction annual cap is roughly 20 transactions a month — genuinely small
- Expert review is described in marketing copy but is not broken out as a priced, contractual service
- No income tax filing; you still need a preparer
- Younger and smaller than the incumbents; migration risk is correspondingly higher
What we could not verify
Most sites in this category would state these as facts. We list them as gaps, and they are the questions to put to Kick directly.
- The scope and staffing of the 'reviewed by experts' claim is not documented on the pricing page
- QuickBooks or Xero interoperability is not stated
Frequently asked
How much does Kick cost?
Kick starts at Free tier. Per company, per month, gated by annual transaction volume on the free tier only. Full published tiers are listed above; figures were read from the vendor's own pricing page on September 4, 2026.
Does Kick work with QuickBooks Online?
Kick does not state whether it supports QuickBooks Online. We have flagged this as unverified rather than guessing.
Does Kick include a human bookkeeper?
AI first, expert review. Automation does the work; the vendor’s staff review exceptions.
Has AI Ledger Intelligence tested Kick?
No. We have not run Kick against a transaction set, and we do not claim hands-on experience we do not have. This page is a verified-data profile built from primary sources. Our benchmark programme explains the accuracy testing we intend to publish and how it will be run.
Alternatives to Kick
Closest products by category, ledger relationship, human involvement and price.
Puzzle
$25/moAI-first accounting software positioned explicitly as a QuickBooks replacement, with the cheapest published entry price in the category.
Digits
$65/moAI-native general ledger with named agents that categorize, reconcile and close — no QuickBooks underneath.
Finaloop
$245/moReal-time accounting built specifically for ecommerce and retail, including inventory — the one vertical where generic AI bookkeeping usually breaks.
Sources for Kick
Every figure on this page was read from the vendor’s own published material or from named trade press on the date shown. We do not estimate prices.
- Kick pricing — kick.co, retrieved September 4, 2026
- Kick homepage — kick.co, retrieved September 4, 2026
Record last verified September 4, 2026.