Head to head

Finaloop vs Bench

A specialist ecommerce platform against a generalist bookkeeping service. For a product business the deciding factor is not price — it is whether inventory is handled at all.

Figures verified September 4, 2026 from vendor sources. How we compare.

The crux

Finaloop does inventory, COGS and multi-channel payout reconciliation natively. Bench does not state inventory support.

Choose Finaloop if…

You sell physical products across one or more channels, use a 3PL, and need margin figures you can act on monthly rather than a P&L that is directionally right.

Choose Bench if…

Your ecommerce operation is simple and small — one channel, no 3PL, low SKU count — and a cheaper generalist service with a dedicated human is enough.

Side by side

Finaloop and Bench on the dimensions that change the decision.
ProductStarting priceHow it is pricedHuman involvementYour general ledgerQuickBooks OnlineXeroMulti-entityAccrual basisInventoryAP / bill payIncome tax filingCFO / advisoryAI agentsTry before you buy
Finaloop$245/moEntry tier is a flat monthly fee gated by revenue and company age. Full-service and platform tiers are quoted on revenue, complexity and services selected.Dedicated accounting teamReplaces itNoNot publishedNot publishedYesYesYesPartialPartialNot publishedNot published
Bench$199/moFlat monthly fee, ~20% cheaper billed annually. A separate QuickBooks-native option is billed hourly with an onboarding fee.Dedicated accounting teamServicePartialNoNot publishedPartialNot publishedNot publishedYesNoNot publishedNot published

Not published means the vendor does not state it. We do not fill gaps with guesses.How this table is built

Finaloop

AI-native accounting platform · Dedicated accounting team

Real-time accounting built specifically for ecommerce and retail, including inventory — the one vertical where generic AI bookkeeping usually breaks.

  • Native inventory and COGS handling — the single biggest gap in general-purpose AI bookkeeping
  • Integrations extend to 3PL and WMS systems, not just banks and payment processors
  • Entry tier is transparently priced at $245/mo, which is cheaper than most full-service ecommerce accounting
  • Narrow by design — if you are not a product business, most of what you pay for is inventory machinery you will not use
  • Starter tier is gated on both revenue (≤$1M) and company age (≤4 years), so it excludes established small brands

Bench

AI + human bookkeeping service · Dedicated accounting team

Long-running human bookkeeping service on proprietary software — with a documented continuity event you should price in.

  • Lowest published entry price for a service with a dedicated human bookkeeper ($199/mo)
  • Bundled tax filing at $599/mo is competitive against buying books and tax separately
  • The hourly QuickBooks-native option is a genuinely different product: your ledger stays yours
  • Bench ceased operations without notice on 27 December 2024 and was acquired days later — customers lost access to their books during the gap. Continuity is a real, documented risk here in a way it is not for most vendors.
  • The core service keeps books in proprietary software; exporting to a normal accounting system is an extra step

Where the difference actually is

Inventory is the entire question

Finaloop handles inventory accounting, COGS timing and reconciliation across sales channels, payment processors, 3PLs and WMS systems. Bench does not state inventory support in its published material. If you carry stock, that single fact decides the comparison before price is discussed.

Price

Finaloop Starter is $245/month, gated at up to $1M annual gross revenue and four years in business. Bench Grow is $199/month ($1,910 annually) for businesses under $250K, Core $399/month. On headline price Bench is cheaper at the bottom; on cost per correct margin figure, for a product business, it is not close.

What you get for the money

Finaloop Starter is self-serve platform access with expert support; the dedicated accounting team sits in the quoted Full-Service tier. Bench includes dedicated experts from its cheapest tier. If a named human is the thing you are buying, Bench delivers that at a lower price — just without inventory.

Both hold the ledger

Neither works inside your QuickBooks or Xero file. Finaloop positions explicitly as a QuickBooks and NetSuite replacement; Bench uses proprietary software. Either way, leaving is a migration. Ask both for their export format and get the answer in writing before you commit.

The continuity point

Bench shut down without notice in December 2024 and was acquired days later; customers lost access to their books in between. For any provider holding your ledger, ask what happens to your data if the company stops trading, and how fast you can get a full transaction-level export.

Frequently asked

Is Finaloop or Bench cheaper?

Finaloop starts at $245/mo and Bench at $199/mo. Entry price is rarely the deciding number in this category — check the add-ons table on each product page, because tax filing, payroll and catch-up work are priced separately by most vendors.

What is the main difference between Finaloop and Bench?

Finaloop does inventory, COGS and multi-channel payout reconciliation natively. Bench does not state inventory support.

Which should I choose?

Choose Finaloop if: You sell physical products across one or more channels, use a 3PL, and need margin figures you can act on monthly rather than a P&L that is directionally right. Choose Bench if: Your ecommerce operation is simple and small — one channel, no 3PL, low SKU count — and a cheaper generalist service with a dedicated human is enough.

Has AI Ledger Intelligence tested either product?

No. Neither product has been run against a controlled transaction set by us or, as far as we can find, by any independent party. This comparison is built from each vendor’s published material with the retrieval date shown. Our benchmark programme sets out the accuracy testing we intend to publish.

Sources for both products

Every figure on this page was read from the vendor’s own published material or from named trade press on the date shown. We do not estimate prices.

  1. Finaloop pricing — finaloop.com, retrieved September 4, 2026
  2. Bench pricing — bench.co, retrieved September 4, 2026
  3. Bench homepage (Mainstreet branding) — bench.co, retrieved September 4, 2026
  4. TechCrunch — Bench to be acquired after abruptly shutting down (30 December 2024) — techcrunch.com, retrieved September 4, 2026
  5. GeekWire — Bench Accounting to be acquired by Employer.com following abrupt shutdown — geekwire.com, retrieved September 4, 2026

Record last verified September 4, 2026.

Next steps