Head to head
Digits vs Puzzle
Both replace your general ledger with an AI-first system. Puzzle is cheaper at entry and more explicit about accounting depth; Digits is more explicit about agents and gives your own tooling a way in.
Figures verified September 4, 2026 from vendor sources. How we compare.
The crux
Puzzle meters AI work in credits and sells accounting depth. Digits sells unmetered agents plus an API and MCP endpoint.
Choose Digits if…
You want the ledger itself to be agent-driven, you value an MCP endpoint and API so your own assistants can query the books, and flat pricing with no per-seat fees matters to you.
Choose Puzzle if…
You need accrual accounting, revenue recognition and subledgers at a low price, you are comparing against a QuickBooks migration and want that migration included, and you would rather pay $25–$100 than $65–$250.
Neither, if: If you must keep QuickBooks or Xero, both are out — neither works on top of an existing ledger. Look at Booke AI or an AI + human service instead.
Side by side
| Product | Starting price | How it is priced | Human involvement | Your general ledger | QuickBooks Online | Xero | Multi-entity | Accrual basis | Inventory | AP / bill pay | Income tax filing | CFO / advisory | AI agents | Try before you buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Digits | $65/mo | Flat per company, per month. No per-seat fees. Accounting firms are billed per client per month. | Software only, partner network | Replaces it | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Yes | No | No | Yes | 30 days |
| Puzzle | $25/mo | Per company, per month. Annual billing is cheaper than monthly. AI work is metered in credits at every tier. | Software only, partner network | Replaces it | No | Not published | Partial | Yes | Not published | Not published | No | No | Yes | Not published |
Not published means the vendor does not state it. We do not fill gaps with guesses.How this table is built
Digits
AI-native accounting platform · Software only, partner network
AI-native general ledger with named agents that categorize, reconcile and close — no QuickBooks underneath.
- One of the few products where AI agents own the ledger end to end rather than annotating someone else's
- Publishes flat pricing with no per-seat charges — unusual in this category
- Ships a documented developer API and an MCP endpoint, so the books are addressable by your own agents
- Replacing your general ledger is a migration, not an install — historical data, accountant workflows and integrations all move
- The pricing page does not list QuickBooks or Xero as supported accounting platforms, so this is not an add-on to books you already keep
Puzzle
AI-native accounting platform · Software only, partner network
AI-first accounting software positioned explicitly as a QuickBooks replacement, with the cheapest published entry price in the category.
- Lowest published entry price of any AI-native ledger reviewed here ($25/mo on annual billing)
- Accrual accounting, revenue recognition and subledgers are available without moving to an ERP
- Publishes a full four-tier price list including monthly and annual figures — rare in this category
- AI work is credit-metered; the Starter tier's 25 credits are a lifetime allowance, not monthly
- Multi-entity is described as available 'via integration' at the Core tier rather than natively
Where the difference actually is
Price, tier for tier
Puzzle: $25 / $60 / $100 / $300 per month on annual billing ($30 / $72 / $120 / $360 monthly). Digits: $65 / $100 / $250 per month with a 30-day free trial and no per-seat fees. Puzzle undercuts at every comparable point, but the tiers are not equivalent — Puzzle’s AI is credit-metered and Digits’ is not.
The credit model matters
Puzzle allocates AI credits by tier: 25 lifetime on Starter, 100/month on Complete, 300/month on Scale. What happens when they run out is not documented publicly. Digits does not meter AI work in its published pricing. If your volume is high or spiky, price that carefully before comparing headline numbers.
Accounting depth
Puzzle publishes accrual books, revenue recognition, subledgers, classes/departments/projects and a custom chart of accounts. Digits publishes dimensional accounting (department and location) and an Agentic Close, but does not state whether it handles revenue recognition, inventory or multi-entity consolidation. For a company with real accounting complexity, Puzzle documents more of what you need.
Developer and agent surface
Digits ships a documented Developer API and an MCP endpoint from its cheapest tier — one of very few products in this category that does. If you intend to point your own assistant or internal tooling at your ledger, that is a structural advantage Puzzle does not publish an equivalent for.
Migration
Puzzle includes a white-glove QuickBooks migration at the Complete tier and markets it as the QuickBooks replacement plan. Digits does not describe a migration programme in its published pricing. Either way, this is a ledger move: budget for a parallel month and for your accountant’s time learning a new system.
Frequently asked
Is Digits or Puzzle cheaper?
Digits starts at $65/mo and Puzzle at $25/mo. Entry price is rarely the deciding number in this category — check the add-ons table on each product page, because tax filing, payroll and catch-up work are priced separately by most vendors.
What is the main difference between Digits and Puzzle?
Puzzle meters AI work in credits and sells accounting depth. Digits sells unmetered agents plus an API and MCP endpoint.
Which should I choose?
Choose Digits if: You want the ledger itself to be agent-driven, you value an MCP endpoint and API so your own assistants can query the books, and flat pricing with no per-seat fees matters to you. Choose Puzzle if: You need accrual accounting, revenue recognition and subledgers at a low price, you are comparing against a QuickBooks migration and want that migration included, and you would rather pay $25–$100 than $65–$250. If you must keep QuickBooks or Xero, both are out — neither works on top of an existing ledger. Look at Booke AI or an AI + human service instead.
Has AI Ledger Intelligence tested either product?
No. Neither product has been run against a controlled transaction set by us or, as far as we can find, by any independent party. This comparison is built from each vendor’s published material with the retrieval date shown. Our benchmark programme sets out the accuracy testing we intend to publish.
Sources for both products
Every figure on this page was read from the vendor’s own published material or from named trade press on the date shown. We do not estimate prices.
- Digits pricing — digits.com, retrieved September 4, 2026
- CPA Practice Advisor — Digits announces outcome-based pricing for accounting firms (7 April 2026) — cpapracticeadvisor.com, retrieved September 4, 2026
- Puzzle pricing — puzzle.io, retrieved September 4, 2026
Record last verified September 4, 2026.
Next steps
Digits in detail
Full pricing, capabilities and what we could not verify.
Puzzle in detail
Full pricing, capabilities and what we could not verify.
Digits alternatives
Everything else worth shortlisting.
Software finder
Score both against your own constraints.
Cost calculator
Total cost including your hours.
All comparisons
Other head-to-heads worth reading.