Head to head
Puzzle vs QuickBooks Online
This is the real decision behind most AI bookkeeping searches: is the incumbent ledger the problem, or is it the labour around it?
Figures verified September 4, 2026 from vendor sources. How we compare.
The crux
QuickBooks now bundles its own AI into every plan. Puzzle is cheaper at the top and better on accrual depth, but switching costs are one-way.
Choose Puzzle if…
You are early enough that migration is cheap, you want accrual books and runway metrics without a service, and the price difference at the upper tiers ($100 vs $140–$340) compounds meaningfully for you.
Choose QuickBooks Online if…
You have years of history, integrations you rely on, or an accountant who works in QuickBooks. The AI you already pay for may be the answer, and you have almost certainly not tested it properly.
Side by side
| Product | Starting price | How it is priced | Human involvement | Your general ledger | QuickBooks Online | Xero | Multi-entity | Accrual basis | Inventory | AP / bill pay | Income tax filing | CFO / advisory | AI agents | Try before you buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Puzzle | $25/mo | Per company, per month. Annual billing is cheaper than monthly. AI work is metered in credits at every tier. | Software only, partner network | Replaces it | No | Not published | Partial | Yes | Not published | Not published | No | No | Yes | Not published |
| QuickBooks Online | $38/mo | Per company, per month, by feature tier. List prices below; Intuit runs heavy introductory discounts (90% off for 3 months at time of retrieval). | Software only, partner network | Sits on top | Yes | No | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | Partial | No | Partial | 30 days |
Not published means the vendor does not state it. We do not fill gaps with guesses.How this table is built
Puzzle
AI-native accounting platform · Software only, partner network
AI-first accounting software positioned explicitly as a QuickBooks replacement, with the cheapest published entry price in the category.
- Lowest published entry price of any AI-native ledger reviewed here ($25/mo on annual billing)
- Accrual accounting, revenue recognition and subledgers are available without moving to an ERP
- Publishes a full four-tier price list including monthly and annual figures — rare in this category
- AI work is credit-metered; the Starter tier's 25 credits are a lifetime allowance, not monthly
- Multi-entity is described as available 'via integration' at the Core tier rather than natively
QuickBooks Online
General ledger with built-in AI · Software only, partner network
The default US small-business ledger, now with Intuit Intelligence AI built into every plan — and the baseline every AI bookkeeping product is really competing with.
- Every accountant in the US can work in it; portability and hiring are non-issues
- AI features are now bundled into the plan price rather than sold as an upsell
- Largest integration ecosystem of any product in this set, by a wide margin
- No native multi-entity consolidation — this is the single most common reason buyers look elsewhere
- AI chat is capped at 25 questions per month and is in beta
Where the difference actually is
You already own AI features
Intuit Intelligence is bundled into every QuickBooks Online plan: expense categorization, AI chat (capped at 25 questions a month, in beta), and from Plus upward AI reconciliation, profit-and-loss insights, anomaly detection and sales-tax AI. Before paying to leave, spend a month establishing whether those features actually fall short for you, or whether nobody has configured them.
Price at the tiers people actually use
QuickBooks Online: $38 / $85 / $140 / $340 per month at list. Puzzle: $25 / $60 / $100 / $300 on annual billing. The gap at the working tier — QuickBooks Plus at $140 against Puzzle Complete at $100 — is $480 a year. Real, but smaller than a migration costs in your own time.
What QuickBooks does that Puzzle does not document
Inventory, payroll (as a separate Intuit product), sales tax, and the largest third-party integration ecosystem in small-business accounting. Puzzle does not state inventory support. For a product business that difference alone ends the conversation.
What Puzzle does that QuickBooks does not
Cash and accrual books side by side, runway and burn metrics natively, revenue recognition and subledgers at $300/month, and multi-entity via integration. QuickBooks Online has no native multi-entity consolidation at any tier — which is the single most common legitimate reason to leave it.
The switching cost nobody prices
Migration is not just data. It is your accountant learning a new system, your bookkeeper’s rules being rebuilt, integrations re-cut, and a parallel month where you run both. Assume 10–20 hours of your own time even with a white-glove migration included, and assume the first close on the new system takes twice as long.
Frequently asked
Is Puzzle or QuickBooks Online cheaper?
Puzzle starts at $25/mo and QuickBooks Online at $38/mo. Entry price is rarely the deciding number in this category — check the add-ons table on each product page, because tax filing, payroll and catch-up work are priced separately by most vendors.
What is the main difference between Puzzle and QuickBooks Online?
QuickBooks now bundles its own AI into every plan. Puzzle is cheaper at the top and better on accrual depth, but switching costs are one-way.
Which should I choose?
Choose Puzzle if: You are early enough that migration is cheap, you want accrual books and runway metrics without a service, and the price difference at the upper tiers ($100 vs $140–$340) compounds meaningfully for you. Choose QuickBooks Online if: You have years of history, integrations you rely on, or an accountant who works in QuickBooks. The AI you already pay for may be the answer, and you have almost certainly not tested it properly.
Has AI Ledger Intelligence tested either product?
No. Neither product has been run against a controlled transaction set by us or, as far as we can find, by any independent party. This comparison is built from each vendor’s published material with the retrieval date shown. Our benchmark programme sets out the accuracy testing we intend to publish.
Sources for both products
Every figure on this page was read from the vendor’s own published material or from named trade press on the date shown. We do not estimate prices.
- Puzzle pricing — puzzle.io, retrieved September 4, 2026
- QuickBooks Online pricing — quickbooks.intuit.com, retrieved September 4, 2026
Record last verified September 4, 2026.
Next steps
Puzzle in detail
Full pricing, capabilities and what we could not verify.
QuickBooks Online in detail
Full pricing, capabilities and what we could not verify.
Alternatives and switching
Guides for products people are leaving.
Software finder
Score both against your own constraints.
Cost calculator
Total cost including your hours.
All comparisons
Other head-to-heads worth reading.